img_1294Michael left Saturday for Finland for 12 nights. The first time he went to Finland, shortly after we got here in France, was a little strange. I felt like the only person I knew in all of Europe was Brooklyn, which was a little scary. Thank goodness we didn’t have to drive anywhere because I’m still too scared to drive here and what would I do if I got a flat tire or broke down and can’t talk to anyone? We’ve been here for a while now, so this time isn’t as bad. Brooklyn misses Daddy reading her a night-night book and I miss Michael too, but I have a confession to make…….I enjoy having the bed to myself. A lot. So much that I get a good nights sleep when he is gone. Let me explain. When we found out we were moving to France, others who have lived here said the rooms are very small and you can’t take King sized beds. So we got rid of our bedroom furniture and bought a queen size bed to take with us and things have never been the same. When Michael called me the first night from Finland and I told him I slept fabulously he said, “Well, of course you did, you can sleep spread eagle when I’m not there.” And that is exactly what I did. And the sleep gods let Brooklyn sleep until 9:30 one morning and 10:00 the other. I’m not sure how it is possible, but I’m not going to anger the gods by questioning their actions. For me to get a good nights sleep, I have many conditions that must be met. They are as follows:

A. The temperature has to be cool enough that I need blankets.
B. I must have a sheet and a blanket covering me up to my neck. The comforter must be folded down.
C. I can’t have any part of another human being touching me.
D. Body parts cannot dangle off the edge of the bed.

Not so bad huh? Ummmm, not in a queen sized bed. I try to keep my spread eagle under control so Michael can have half of the bed, but even he has a hard time keeping his knobby knees out of my back (See C above.) Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind a little spooning , but then it is time to get down to business. Sleeping that is. Get your minds out of the gutter. Sheesh! Michael is like a furnace (See A above.) and in no time I think that I am in menopause having heat flashes and sweating (Although this does come in handy when I have cold feet). My other problem, besides needing to sleep spread eagle, is that I have a hard time falling asleep and I toss and turn for a while before falling asleep. And with this I tend to take the blankets with me so we end of playing tug of war with the blankets all night (See B above). I also have an irrational fear of having my hands or feet hanging off the bed (See D above). I don’t recall anything ever causing me to have this fear and I don’t know what I expect to happen, I just know that it is very, very important that I do not let this happen. Ever. Doesn’t everyone always say to listen to your gut? Well, my gut is telling me to keep all body parts within the top confines of the bed and by golly, I’m going to listen! So while I miss my hubby so much because we do everything together, I don’t miss having to share the bed. Is that bad?

