I think I may have done some permanent damage to Brooklyn. I was under the impression that is was a good thing to teach your kids to clean up after themselves, but Brooklyn takes it to the extreme. She refuses to go to sleep if all her dollhouse toys aren’t put back in the bag. “Why is this bad?” you say. It is bad because when all I want to do after a long day is just crawl in bed she insists we clean up her room. I’m very serious about my sleep and become very cranky (Michael might even use the word “extremely”) when I am tired so this is a very bad thing. She also refuses to sleep in her room if there is something that she thinks doesn’t belong in there. Here are Brooklyn’s Terrible Two Sleep Rules that we are expected to abide by:

1. All dollhouse toys must be placed in the appropriate bag or I will insist we clean it up.
2. The Hello Kitty motorcycle must never stay in the room while I sleep or I will scream for
Mommy to remove it.
3. A sippy cup inadvertently left in the room is reason to scream so Mommy removes it.
4. If anything besides my Gant (blanket), Peep, Baby, My Christmas book, and Hello Kitty book is on the bed, I will scream for Mommy to remove it instead of just tossing it on the floor myself.

We have now entered into the early Terrible Three’s and Brooklyn has added another Sleep Rule for us:

1. Shadows on the wall must be removed or I will scream for Mommy to remove them.

And this is exactly what she did today. Look at this picture. Look closely. Do you see anything scary?

Pic 1

Can’t find anything? Ok, I will help you. Look at this picture.

pic 2

See it?

Unfortunatley, what Brooklyn sees and what we see aren’t the same. We will refer to this as Nighttime Hallucinations. To us the shapes are clearly nothing, but to a toddler it is something scary. Like this…

Pic3

I heard her screaming and I went in her room and she pointed at the radiator and said, “What’s that?” in a voice on the verge of losing it. I said, “What?” looking for a bug but finding nothing. Finally, I figure out she is talking about the shadow from the giraffe’s horns. I show her it is only the horns, but she still makes me move it to the other side of the room. Really I’m surprised she didn’t make me remove it from the room.

For these Nighttime Hallucinations to make sense we must remember they are only toddlers. They have magnificent imaginations and we must remember they can’t help it. Instead of getting annoyed, just draw pictures of what you think it is that they see. Just don’t show it to them. That would probably make it worse. Way worse. Do anybody else’s kids have Nighttime Hallucinations?

