escargotSo things have been kind of crazy. Michael was in Finland for three weeks for work. THREE weeks! I’m surprised Brooklyn and I survived, but somehow we did. I was too busy with Brooklyn and my new French class (post on this soon to come) to feel too sorry for myself while Michael was over there watching the Northern Lights and having gourmet food cooked for him at every meal.

I’ve made two French friends here and they like to come over for dinner so I will cook them American food. They seem to like everything I have made for them. It’s strange the things they have never had. Things that are very normal to us like tacos, meatloaf, sweet and sour meatballs, chicken broccoli casserole, and chicken pot pie to name a few. I also make desserts like pineapple upside down cake (although I can’t find maraschino cherries here), peach cobbler, rice pudding, no bake chocolate peanut butter oatmeal cookies, coke floats, banana splits, and ice cream cookie sandwiches to name a few. Ingrid’s favorite has been the peach cobbler and Lauren’s has been the meatloaf.

So the other week, the same week I started my new French class, Ingrid and Lauren came over for dinner, but I was too tired to cook so I decided to order pizza from Cham Pizza. This particular pizza place is the only place I can call and place an order in French. I’m pretty sure they recognize the number because most of the time they will say my order before I do (We always order the chorizo pizza). This time I decided to order an extra pizza since there were going to be three of us. I decided on an Escargot pizza. I thought that French people liked to eat escargot so it would be a good choice. No. Total stereotype. So much to my surprise, the girls informed me that French people don’t really eat escargot. At least, they don’t eat it any more than us Americans do. Lauren had had them before but Ingrid never did and had a hard time eating just one! But we all ended up eating a few pieces and it was ok. Not sure that I would order it again, but it was interesting. I mean, where else are we ever going to be able to order another escargot pizza?

