FishApril Fool’s Day in France is a little different than in the United States. Here in France, it is called “Poisson d’Avril” (This roughly translates to “April Fish!”). It began many, many years ago with little kids trying to attach a paper fish to the back of another person’s shirt. And when the person notices the fish, the prankster yells, “Poisson d’Avril!”

So today when I went into a patisserie, I noticed that they had fish cakes for the occasion. I didn’t get one, but they are the same as the King’s cakes I’ve posted about, so I’m sure they are really good! And why you might ask, did I not get one? Well, that is because the homemade doughnut sprinkled with powdered sugar and filled with fresh raspberry filling was calling my name. Have I mentioned before how much I love patisseries?

