This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We have tried a few new patisseries lately and took a few pictures to share with you.

Michael and I also went out to dinner the other night to try a new restaurant called L’Odevie and it was amazing! I must ask you to please excuse the horrible pictures. I decided to take our older, smaller camera so we could try to hide the fact that we were photographing our food, because I really embarrass Michael when I do this, and the pictures came out dark and blurry.

We took Brooklyn with us to dinner and she was a huge hit. It is no surprise that Brooklyn pretty much always dresses like a princess. In France, the kids clothes are very plain, can be dull in color, and fancy dresses like Brooklyn likes to wear are non-existent. So when she wore her sparkly and sequined dress, everyone commented on it from the waiters to the other diners. This pretty much happens wherever she goes. I’m pretty sure she thinks she is a celebrity.

Most restaurants here have a package you can get where you get an appetizer, main dish and the dessert for a little cheaper than if you ordered them separately. This is what we ordered that night so we could try lots of good French food.

To start, they brought us a little plate of hors d’oeuvres. It was an unexpected surprise and very good.

For my meal, I ordered frog legs as my appetizer and let me tell you, they were amazing! Seriously amazing! And yes, they really do taste like chicken! They were lightly breaded and fried, so they were a little crispy, and baked in a garlic and butter sauce. Yum! For the main dish I got a steak with sauce (crème fraiche and cognac) and moreilles mushrooms. It was excellent and is what I usually order wherever we go. I didn’t take a picture of this one because by the time I remembered to take a picture, I had already cut most of my steak into smaller pieces (I know, not very French of me) and it looked like a big bloody pile of dog food. I like my steaks rare! And for dessert I got the Café Gourmand, which is a little taste of everything on the dessert menu.

Michael ordered oysters for his appetizer, scallops for his main dish, and a caramel profiterole (like an ice cream filled crème puff with whipped cream) for dessert. He said his meal was also really good.

Brooklyn got a kids meal that was steak haché (very similar to a hamburger patty) and chopped vegetables. Make sure you check out the picture of this. It is very interesting to me how fancy this kid’s meal is and how different a kid’s meal here is from one in America.

The French really have the good, fresh food thing down and we are definitely taking advantage of that while we are here!

